Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Overheating, bad heater core?

Old 09-28-2010, 09:36 PM
MotorMouthChica
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Overheating, bad heater core?

(LONG: skip to end for basic symptoms and questions if you don't wanna read it all!)

Hi all,
I am new to the world of Ford truck ownership; I just bought my '95 f150 about a month ago and it didn't take long to figure out why FORD stands for Fix Or Repair Daily! Fortunately I found you guys and I'm praying you can help. I love this truck and I want to learn how to work on it.

I already have had to take it to the mechanic once and I can't afford to run to him on a regular basis. In fact, I bought it from my next-door neighbor, test-drove it, it ran great, paid him, drove from his driveway to mine and it BROKE DOWN. I owned it for about 45 seconds when it quit! So, we got that resolved, long story not worth telling here, but paid a couple hundred to get it fixed and definitely motivated me to find out how to work on it on my own! I wish I could ask my neighbor for advice, and find out in more detail what history he has on it, but I've figured out that he knew about certain problems and failed to tell me, so I decided that he is a dirtbag and I don't talk to him anymore.

ANYWAY, a couple of weeks ago it started to run hot. I noticed coolant on the floor on the passenger side. It was also leaking onto the ground underneath. I didn't have time for it to cool down so I added coolant to the overflow tank (hope it was ok to do it that way?). Truck cooled down, went home.

Happened again a few days later, added coolant to overflow (cuz it seemed to work the first time?), temp dropped, went home. Both times, the coolant in the overflow tank got sucked into the radiator.