1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

1956 , what should i do??

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2010, 01:34 PM
cwest73
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1956 , what should i do??

hey guys im new to theforums, so here is some info.
im 16 and bought a 1956 f100 with my dad,m we built a garage for it and ive started to disasseble it.

now eventually i wanna do some big things for it, things that will take years and some serious dough, so indecided i just wanna get it road and inspection worthy so i can at least maybe drive it for my senior year.

i obviously wanna cut out all the rust and replace the plannels that have to be

and i geuss ill just clean up and rplace any worn parts on the suspensiona dn frame

and a simple interior is in order like a rug and a seat would be nice
so my question is in order to transfoorm it into my daily driver while stayong on budget what should i upgrade, what kinda bed ,
and many parts like door handles are broken should i spend the money now on new chrome ones or should i settle with crappy used ones and buy the chrome ones later on.

also my truck came with what i belive to be a pontiac 389 around 65 i think but i wont be sure untill i pull it and check the numbers it also the tranny is a 3 speed hydromatic, i didnt even knoew that pontiac made that, or if its not pontiac that the bolt pattern would line up

but i rlly wanna buy an old 351 that a guy might sell me and ill rebuild that while i drive the truck with the 389
but here is the problem im gonna spend most of my money on the 351 but i need to drive with the 389 for a few mounths so any ideas on how to maybe cheaply rebuild it so it doesnt crao iout on me thanks

-charlie

Old 08-19-2010, 01:38 PM
cwest73
Junior User
Old 08-19-2010, 02:24 PM
Stephen67
Postmaster
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Nice looking truck!