Laughing Gas
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
^ what kind of car is that on the lift?

Old 03-30-2015, 12:05 PM
rjhucka
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up I am seeking help today?

Hello, First, I am not a Ford mechanic. I am a old "Hippie" Porsche and VW mechanic.

So, my technology peak is about 1979. But, I understand basic Bosch FI etc. as I have worked on those systems. Secondly, I am new to posting on the site, so please forgive me if my post here is not within normal protocol.

With that said, I purchased a 1992 FordF150 automatic 4X4 with a 4.9 in-line 6 cylinder engine. I initially bought it in cold weather in Nevada

Since I first bought it 2 months ago, the truck ran fine with the exception that from time to time, after shutting it down for only a few minutes, the truck would not start. So, being an old Oklahoma ranch hand, I sprayed starter fluid in the intake hose and it would start every time. I have been guessing that a dirty fuel filter might be the culprit? As the fuel filter I believe is in the tank, and as I have been delaying the job, I have been spraying a shot of starter fluid in to start a warm engine and it has usually always worked. But, today it was 80 degrees and although I let the truck sit for about and hour; which is usually enough to allow a start - even without starter fluid) today, after 1 hour (80 degrees outside temp)- no start. I sprayed fluid and it would always fire, and exhaust the fluid; then die. Now it just seems that there in not fuel getting to the engine?

I have been looking at threads today, and troubleshooting advice ranged from O2 sensors, to other sensors, etc.. Now, wow I do not know where to start. Also, I have never pulled a code in my life (remember 1978 Technology expert), so any ideas on a good plan of attack troubleshooting the issue would be very much appreciated. It seems to have hit a peak today issue as I just was unable to start a cold engine; even with fluid, etc.