Large Truck My truck is bigger than yours. The forum for 2+ ton trucks (all years), COE's, Louisville's, Big-Job's etc.

Pull F6 engine with an 8N???

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2010, 04:43 PM
Jalopy48
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Pull F6 engine with an 8N???

Hi,

Newbie here. I have two trucks(48-F6 & 63-M37) in need of engine work. Neither vehicle fits in my garage so I need to do the engine pull in my yard. Yesterday I bought a shop crane from HF. It's a 2-ton I got for $120. A great deal, but when I got it home I realized that I have an 8n sitting in the garage and I have a boom for the 3-point. My question is, is it realistic to think I can pull an engine with the boom & 8n tractor or am I missing something(like common sense?). I've never pulled an engine before and not sure if I would just make a mess of it with the tractor.

On the M37<dodge> the engine gets lifted a few inches and then is pulled out the front along with the radiator etc. Could this been done on my F6? It would save having to remove the hood and the radiator has to come out anyhow. What would you guys think of pulling the ford out the front? Thanks.

I listed this on the "1948-1960 F1 & larger forum and now I'm thinking I should be here. Where does a 48 F6 belong???
</dodge>

Old 07-28-2010, 06:16 PM
awhtx
Tuned
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
As a Ford tractor owner (4 of them) I would say the 8N will not work because when pulling an engine you often need to raise or lower the engine 1/2" to get a bolt out or to clear some obstacle. The 3 Point Hitch on a tractor does not have the "fine tuning" capabilities to raise or lower 1/2". An engine Cherry Picker is much more able to do the job precisely.

Old 07-29-2010, 09:06 AM
Jalopy48
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts