Go Back   Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums > Diesel > 6.0L Power Stroke Diesel
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van SPONSORED BY:

Welcome to Ford-Trucks Forums!
Welcome to Ford-Trucks.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Ford-Trucks Forums community today!

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-27-2010, 11:57 AM
New User

excursionsthebeast is starting off with a positive reputation.
loud sucking noise under load

Hey guys, im a newb in the diesel world so bare with me. I have an 05 excursion 6.0 diesel and developed a problem over the weekend. I tow a camper and on the way home i started hearing a fairly loud sucking noise when i was pulling hills. It seams to do it when the turbo realy starts making power. I looked for loose pipes, holes in pipes and anything visible but found nothing. Power seems fine and no other problems seem to arrise from it. While driving it sounds central of the engine compartment so Im guessing it has something to do with the turbo. Thanks for any help.
Old 07-27-2010, 08:14 PM
New User

Just drove around a little to listen to the noise again and it seems to start the sound as soon as the turbo starts spooling up. doesnt seem to get any louder under full throttle and still has the same power i believe. only other thing is it seemed to make a little more black smoke but that could be just me.
Old 07-27-2010, 09:16 PM
Elder User

jetact is starting off with a positive reputation.