Excursion - King of SUVs 2000 - 2005 Ford Excursion
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Where should auxillary tranny cooler be mounted?

Old 08-05-2010, 10:20 AM
mrad
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by TXSailor
Well from all appearance, it looks like temps run 20 to 25 degrees below where they were running but I have limited mileage experience to base that upon. It's been low 90's here and tranny temps show 60 to 70 degrees above that under normal loads/conditions. Those highway temps are typically 145 to 160.

Around town the temps are a bit higher 150 to 165 (this was the peak so far) with stop and go driving but sitting at traffic lights the tranny cools off much faster than it did.

Just sitting and idleing for a long period after mixed driving, it settles doiwn to 135 and stays there (again outside temps are 90+ but under 95).

Still trying to get the fluid level adjusted up slowly as I am on the "low side" of hot right now. Will report back after some towing time later next month.

An interesting side effect (which my be my imagination) is that the Engine oil temps seem a bit lower (not much maybe 5 to 6 degrees but there). I suspect it may be due to better air flow through the radiator as a result of the higher Tranny Cooler and less turbulance betwwen the AC Condensor and Intercooler. And perhaps the Tranny is "soaking" up a bit more of the engine heat- who knows.

D
Interesting. We left Minneapolis on July 31st heading to Michigans U.P pulling a 6,000lb TT. My Tranny temps have been running around 188-191 most of the time. I did hit 208 for a brief period in the porcupines. Temps have been in the mid 80's. It seems like it takes a while for the temps to come down, even when I am coasting down hill. I will have to look into the 6.0 cooler when I get back.

Old 08-05-2010, 10:32 AM
TXSailor
Senior User
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts