Sponsored by: Moser

Wanting to build super short bed crew

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2010, 12:41 PM
RustyShackelford
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wanting to build super short bed crew

I'm new here but I have searched and learned a lot.

I have been wanting to build a crew cab on a LWB frame for a while now and waffled from the dent to the 92-96/97 for a while. I have finally made up my mind to do it on a dent. While I am not new to these trucks, I am new to some of the specialty trucks that came out in this time frame.

The original plan was a LWB with a crew cab on it and the bed would end right in front of the rear wheel wells. I didnt think this would look all that great and the discovered the camper special. That should give the bed a more balanced look and all.

So onto the questions. Was the camper special ever available in 4wd? Searching and googling is hard to tell because I cant tell if the couple I have seen were factory or custom. Do all the camper special beds have the tire carrier hidden in the front of the bed?

Thanks

Old 07-21-2010, 12:58 PM
Ronzi
More Turbo
Received 21 Likes on 10 Posts
Ive never seen a 4x4 with the spare in the side of the bed. Id be suprised if they came from the factory like that.
Maybe some of the companys that did the 4x4 conversions like Marmon ?

Old 07-21-2010, 02:00 PM
RustyShackelford
Senior User
so were there 4wd camper specials with the extra wheelbase? I want a camper special bed without the hidden spare if they made them because that bed had like 14" from wheel well to end of bed instead of the 26" or whatever it was.

Old 07-21-2010, 02:12 PM
FarmerBill
Senior User