Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

Help I dont know what this spray is

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2016, 11:54 PM
LordKamakazi
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help I dont know what this spray is

1986 f250 6.9. Been restoring this truck after my grandfather passed away. Had a lot of oil leaking down the back of the engine. I went diving in today and its coming from the backside of the valve covers. Hopefully that's not a terrible job..? I've never pulled any before. And hopefully that's the only place its coming from.

Anyway while under there leak searching I found this line spraying some fluid. I have no idea what line it is since I'm just starting to learn my way around this motor (or diesels in general).

Laying on my back, feet out the passenger side looking up. Its right above the starter. I lost my sense of smell in the Marine Corps from chemical exposure so I couldn't tell you what it smelled like. I dont know what that line is so I dont now if that is pressurized fuel or oil blowback.

*Edit* I'm attaching a video link to it and a picture. (video might be loud. Sorry)

http://webm.land/media/ZEID.webm

Line

Old 05-12-2016, 02:37 AM
southern-old-bold
Senior User
Originally Posted by LordKamakazi
1986 f250 6.9. Been restoring this truck after my grandfather passed away. Had a lot of oil leaking down the back of the engine. I went diving in today and its coming from the backside of the valve covers. Hopefully that's not a terrible job..? I've never pulled any before. And hopefully that's the only place its coming from.

Anyway while under there leak searching I found this line spraying some fluid. I have no idea what line it is since I'm just starting to learn my way around this motor (or diesels in general).