Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

6.9 liter performance mods/ upgrades

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2010, 11:25 AM
6.9lXLTf250
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
6.9 liter performance mods/ upgrades

hey im new to the form and had some questions for yall. I have a 6.9l diesel IDI and i wantde to give her some more ***.

My dad has a 7.3l excursion with a hypertec chip, magnaflow exhaust and a volant air intake. From a dead stop while towing an armored vehical he kills me! no load in the truck and im running offroad diesel.

Help?

dont want a sled truck just something i can have fun with and still do some work.

Any ideas at all ill take

thanks for your time

Kevin St.Amant

Old 06-15-2010, 01:41 PM
RCrawler
Postmaster
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Welcome to the IDI forum.

The biggest single mod you can do to your 6.9 is to add a turbo. I think ATS is the only active company still offering a kit for the IDI. But, you can find deals on good used kits on Ebay, Craigslist etc.

If you are wanting to stay NA, there are a few things you can do. Free up the exhaust with duals or a larger single system with good muffler, or none if you like more growl.

Get more air into the engine with a ram air setup. Cut out the soup bowl on the air cleaner lid.

You can turn up the fuel a flat or two. But you need to install a pyrometer before you do to monitor the exhaust temp. Pretty easy to melt pistons.

Jason

Jason

Old 06-15-2010, 01:55 PM
FORDF250HDXLT
Post Fiend
Received 37 Likes on 31 Posts
dont expect an n/a idi to keep up with a 7.3l powerstroke.it wont.
dont expect a turbocharged idi to keep up with 7.3l with a few mods and a chip either.it wont.
if your looking for "fun" id go with a 460 gas engine.
if you want the idi in peak performance,do as mentioned above and dont forget proper maintenance;
keep the ip and injectors fresh (every 100k miles max)
have the engine timed (every 30-50k miles max)