1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

LG's restoration project: Brown Hornet

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2010, 05:26 PM
lgwilson
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
LG's restoration project: Brown Hornet

Who: 1981 F150 Ranger Lariat Extended Cab 2wd
What: Restoration
Where: Enterprise, AL
When: Started in March
How: That's why I'm starting this thread because this is my first time undertaking such a task and I'm bound to have tons of questions along the way and having this thread will prevent me from accidentally hijacking others threads.

This truck belonged to my father-in-law who bought it brand new in 1981. He had a lot of plans for the truck once it hit 100K on the clock, mainly he was going to tear apart the hideous 351M it came with and rebuild it to make some power the way Ford should have originally. The plans fell through when he was injured and was paralyzed from the chest down though he kept the truck. I entered the picture in '96 and fell in love with the truck the first time I layed eyes on it. Anyway, he didn't drive it much, logging less than 5000 miles total the last 10 years he owned it, and I told him if he ever decided to sell it to let me know. In March of 2003 he called me up and asked me when I was going to get that "eyesore of a truck" out of his garage. Figuring he was selling it I started asking him how much he needed for it and if he'd hang onto it for me because the next day I was leaving for the war in Iraq. He said he didn't want any money. So he gave me the truck and I believe it is because he thought I'd follow through with most if not all of his plans for the truck. I didn't get to start right away because I had multiple deployments to Iraq and had a couple of moves to different bases also. I recently retired from the military and I've finally begun fixing her up.