Sponsored by:

Ford diesel tech programs?

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2010, 12:15 AM
Njdub
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ford diesel tech programs?

Hi I am currently a mechanic working at a small shop pretty much apprenticing. I really would like to work on diesels and get trained in diesel engines.

I know ford has their ASSET program and there is a school near me that has it. Is this worth it? Or should I go for a general diesel program?
I have pretty good experience with gas engines but I know that isn't really gonna make too much of a difference.

Old 05-29-2010, 12:27 AM
Midwest Dually
Posting Guru
Well, as I have gone along in getting into diesels, there are quite a few large differences followed by a completely different operating system. Thats something to be aware of..

Other then that, if you enjoy working on diesel engines, I suggest going another route. Ford has a good program, but much of what they will teach, are diagnostics and replacement. Something more detailed would be ideal. As you progress through your education and career, you may want to expand your options, and being limited to one auto manufactorers system may limit you. I suggest going to a school that will teach you a broader picture of diesel mechanics.

A school I suggest, WyoTech. Very good school, affordable, very specialized, and will help out with placement and continued education.

In this career field, be ready to go back to school often! There will be your initial classes and studies, then as you work, systems change, and you will be sent back to school often, and more so by dealerships to learn new system and updates.

Old 05-29-2010, 04:32 PM
Volvo92906
Posting Guru
Where you at Njdub? In my opinion, Wyotech isnt really good. I mean, they have a decent technical program but I know a few people who went through it and still dont have work. And for that kind of outlook, the price of it isnt too great.