Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Changing from off-road wheels & tires

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2010, 07:22 PM
VikingTim
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Changing from off-road wheels & tires

I got a ’92 F-150 Flareside 4WD pickup for my son. It is nice, but when test driving it I became concerned that the oversized off-road tires on it are too dangerous for highway driving by young inexperienced driver. I'd like to change to on-/off-road all terrain tires. Look on the door jam I see what the standard tire size is P235 75R/15. Those can't be mounted on the current rims which are made for the oversized tires. If I'm reading everything correctly, standard rims are 15” x 7”.

Internet searches turned up only on 15 x 7 option for rims, but a few 15 x 6, more 15 x 7.5, and a whole lot of 15 x 8, and 15 x 10.

I'm no expert, so my guess is that the 15 x 7 was just for use with the short body of this pickup and the rest are for the full size F-150, which there are many more times of on the road?

Also it has a lift kit on it. Wondering if 15” rims will work at all (or look so stupid he won't drive the truck. If 15” wheels are still an option, is it necessary that I get the recommend 15 x 7s or would the 15 x 7.5s that you have be acceptable if I am going to use P235 75R/13 tires? I don’t think I want the wider 15 x 8 or 15 x 10 because then I’m back into the wide bouncy tires problems for the young driver.

Any help somebody can give me in answering these questions will be greatly appreciated.

Old 05-27-2010, 07:28 PM
Hitokori
Posting Guru
what size tires are on it and my truck came with 15x8's from the factory

Old 05-27-2010, 07:35 PM
VikingTim
New User
Sorry, I don't know. I'm not where the truck is right now. Here's a link to the Web site where I bought it that has a photo.

Cars Limited Home Page