Brakes, Steering, Suspension, Tires, & Wheels  

Wal-Mart tires?

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2003, 11:32 PM
Ford_Six
Hotshot
Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
Wal-Mart tires?

I did a search, and came up with nata- Has anybody here run the Wal-Mart "Super Sport" tires? I need new tires today, but not ready for the muds yet. What are the pros/cons of these tires? By the way, I consider road noise to be a plus.

Old 02-01-2003, 07:34 AM
MustangGT221
Post Fiend
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Wal-Mart tires?

Ya get what you pay for is all I can say.

Old 02-01-2003, 09:56 AM
MrBSS
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wal-Mart tires?

Well, sometimes you CAN get more than you pay for. I have no experience with the Wally World tires, but thay seem to have the ability to get very good manufacturers to do their private label stuff.

Personally, I'd look at the available name brand tires they sell (and , for a wider selection, at Sam's Club), and see if the private label ones seem similar, AND are significantly less expensive. I believe there is also a DOT manufacturer's plant code stamped on all tires. If you can decode that, or find a similar one on a name brand, you will know by whom and where they had it made.

Although you may not have the latest "breakthrough design" (if you think there is one), I don't believe you can go too far wrong with the Walmart tires. However, I probably wouldn't trust their mechanics for anything out of the ordinary.

Old 02-13-2003, 12:52 AM
351ReasonsToRace
New User
Wal-Mart tires?