1968-Present E-Series Van/Cutaway/Chassis Econolines. E150, E250, E350, E450 and E550

Upgrading Our Towing Van - E250 or E350?

Old 05-08-2010, 10:56 PM
sandi_k
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Upgrading Our Towing Van - E250 or E350?

Hi all, I could use some perspective....

My husband and I have been camping in and towing with our 1996 E-250 van for 7 years. It's been great, and we're happy with it in general.

However, the 1996 doesn't have a passenger airbag, so we're actively looking at upgrading. With the upgrade, we're looking at some conversion mods as well.

Our dilemma: we have found 2 Fords that would work well for us - one is a 250, and one is a 350. The 350 is a little older (2006), but it has low mileage, and has all the little touches we like - the towing package, a pop-out window for ventilation at night, vinyl seats, alloy wheels, chrome grill and bumper....and it's cheaper, of course.

The 250 is newer, and $3K more. That $3K would essentially pay for our conversion plans. It has a cloth interior, cheap steel wheels, the new (ugly!) plastic grill and black rear bumper....it does have the tow package, though.

Our heart says BUY THE 350!

But our (surgically repaired!) backs say that the 350 suspension may be too rough. We test-drove it, and it was a little bouncy, but it's hard to judge.

We spoke with the local Ford dealer, who said that the springs were a PITA to change out - like, possibly $1K or more, should we have issues with them.

Any advice? It's just the two of us, with a conversion cargo van, towing jet skis around the western states. But we have found that rough-riding truck frames can be uncomfortable for long distances. We typically drive 4 hours or less when camping for the weekend, which is not an issue. But if we wanted to drive to Utah for a week on Lake Powell? I want to be able to walk once we get there.