Looking for a short lesson

Old 10-18-2010, 12:53 AM
Jdvr2006
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Looking for a short lesson

I'm new to the modificaiton world. I have some basic questions about differentials and clutch modifications.

First, I'm not completely clear on differential ratios and what the numbers completely mean. I have a Dana44. Could anyone shed some light on it and what the difference is between that and let say a Dana60.

To piggyback on that, I am looking into putting 35" tires on my truck and what, if anything, should I do in regards to my rearend. Always wanted to pick up on a hobby like this, and now I have the chance, but definitely need to learn a little more before I try that. What other considerations do I need to make before changing the tires?

Also, I'm currently exchanging my 360FE for a 351W in my '73 Ford F250 Highboy 4x4. I would like to make the clutch a hydraulic one. Any suggestions or tips in doing so?

Sorry for the basic questions, but would definitely appreciate the help.

Old 10-18-2010, 10:28 AM
85e150
Super Moderator
Received 1,578 Likes on 1,288 Posts
Welcome to FTE. Research is a good idea before making changes.

DANA axles. The bigger the number, the bigger the axle. That's the short version. More info:

Axle Identification Chart

35" tires. You need to determine your existing ratio and see if it's going to work with that tall of a tire. You may have to regear. You should be ok axle strength and clearance wise. There were axle ratio tags on the axles, and an axle code on an info plate on the door jamb when new, so see if anything is left of those. With a 4x4, my guess is you already have 4.10s so you are probably ok here.

360FE to 351W. Different engine series, requires a different bell and clutch. If you are getting some stock used up wheezer 351w from a scrappy, you might as well keep the 360. The 360 can be converted into a 390 or even up to a 445 if you want a firebreather.