1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

HELP - F250SD 5.4L Spark Plugs/Rough Idle

Old 05-04-2010, 11:51 AM
ErikLydick
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
HELP - F250SD 5.4L Spark Plugs/Rough Idle

It was time. I changed the plugs, hand threaded them and half a turn to tighten them down. Had two COP's loose their boots during the change. Battery died when I did this, listening to the radio. Unplugged the ECU and moved the air intake, unpulgged a few sensors to make room to make the change easier, I'm a big guy.

Took about two hours to finish. Put it all back together again and now the truck runs rough. WHAT! Yes, rough. BTW, it wasn't running rough before just drinking gas water in the desert. I'm not a newbie here, but I haven't changed plugs in 10 years frankly. I got the bright idea to save myself some cash and now I got a rough running truck.

So I need help. I really don't want to bring this in to get repaired. I put in double platium plugs, did not replace the COPs. So I start the truck, no code on the ECU, but major loss of power and rough idle. So it's miss firing. I'm not a jedi, so I can't tell what cylinder is the issue.

I was assuming that the ECU went into safe mode or something at first, (why do I assume that, well I started the engine with alot of sensors unplugged by mistake) so I reset the ECU by unplugging the battery and thought that would put the ECU in learn mode, but then I heard that this model ECU stores all the data on flash, and a reset of the ECU doesn't do anything but cycle the power.