1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Virginia Beach Paint Shop

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2010, 03:21 PM
perrymedik
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Virginia Beach Paint Shop

Hey all!

I'm almost ready to take my frame to get (Sand/Bead) Blasted and Powder Coated.

I am new to the Virginia Beach, VA area and was wonering if anyone else on the site was in this area that could recommend a place that did good quality work and didn't want to charge you an arm and a leg.

Thanks for the help in advance!

Cory

Old 04-18-2010, 04:32 PM
AXracer
Hotshot
Received 53 Likes on 34 Posts
If you want to get your frame powder coated, you aren't looking for a paint shop, but rather a powdercoater with a big enough oven to bake a frame in it. Powder coaters will also be able to sandblast the frame themselves or have a blaster they are familiar/work with since the quality of a PC job is dependent on the prep underneath. Check with speed shops and circle track racers in the area, they usually know where to go. Powdercoating is a beautiful durable finish if done right, but be sure you have done a total mock up assembly of the truck first, you cannot weld or do any modifications to the frame without destroying the PC finish afterwards. you cannot touch up PC like paint.
PS PC of an entire frame ain't gonna be cheap.

Old 04-18-2010, 04:39 PM
perrymedik
Freshman User
AX,

Thanks for the input. Personally I would love to do the sandblasting and painting myself, but don't have the tools, space or experience to even begin. I'll ask around to some of the local shops for places to go.

What's your take on Sand Blasting vs. Bead Blasting?

Old 04-18-2010, 04:51 PM
AXracer
Hotshot