1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

6.0 turbo diesel info

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2010, 11:49 PM
ronbo0032
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
6.0 turbo diesel info

Looking to purchace a truck to pull my 5th wheel. I have a test drive tomorrow morning in a 04 Super Duty F-350 6.0l with 139,000 mile on it. I'm new to diesel truck and while looking through some of the post, I find alot of people reporting problems with the 6.0l. Is this something I should be concerened about? This will also be my primary vehicle. Any help would be appreciated.

Old 04-18-2010, 09:11 AM
sammy77
Postmaster
Make sure you obtain an Oasis report for the truck, this will tell you plenty of how the trucdk was care for. The 6.0 does have a bad rep. However if you educate yourself as much as you can on it you'll find it is well worth it to get one that was well cared for. Stay away from one that had a tuner on it to be safe.

Old 04-18-2010, 09:19 AM
ronbo0032
New User
Thank you for responding. I've done a lot of reading, now my head is spinning.. lol.. I'll definately ask for the report.

Old 04-18-2010, 11:29 AM
sammy77
Postmaster
Originally Posted by ronbo0032
Thank you for responding. I've done a lot of reading, now my head is spinning.. lol.. I'll definately ask for the report.
Honestly thats completely normal when spending this kinda money for our trucks. I ordered a 2011 and I'm still not sure I want it. I love my 6.0 It has been very good to me but I'm also a nut when it comes to maintenance and thats all the 6.0 really needs. That and a coolant filter is highly recommended

Old 04-18-2010, 12:26 PM
TennesseeMustangPerf
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post