1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

CAT like the Torqshift!

Old 03-31-2010, 08:54 PM
Evan99
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
CAT like the Torqshift!

CAT seems to be very interested in using the Torqshift transmission in some of thier equitment. I think the Torqshift has caugh Allison and past them. But I have no knowledge of Allison transmissions. I know that the Allison uses a 3 peice case and the Torqshift use a one piece one. Just thought you guys might want to hear about this I thought it was pretty cool. Go Ford!!!

Old 03-31-2010, 10:28 PM
redford
Received 1,550 Likes on 905 Posts
See, the thing about Allison is that the transmission used in the GM pickups isn't the transmission used in heavier vehicles. While it is still a decent transmission, it's reputation relies on the good service provided by the heavier transmissions.

The Torqshift had no corporate name to ride into glory. It had to prove itself as a reliable transmission, which it has.

Now, if CAT does mate a medium duty engine to the 5 or 6 speed Torqshift, it may be good news for those of us who may want to drop a Cat engine into a Super Duty.

Old 04-01-2010, 12:22 AM
thedaddycat
Posting Guru
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Redford, are you thinking Acert C7? I wonder, if you got a pre DPF Cat engine and mated it to a 6R140 would you be able to get the electronics to work together? Imagine having the power without the DPF and having a live PTO to boot....

Old 04-01-2010, 01:09 AM
capn kirk
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
probably the part most consistently viewed as the problem of the ford truck getting recognition... say it aint so, now what will everyone use as why they don't like the superduty. My vote is that the AC just isnt cold enough

Old 04-01-2010, 06:39 AM
Tom
Super Moderator
Received 671 Likes on 440 Posts
Originally Posted by thedaddycat