Arizona Chapter Join Chapter, Leader:

Emissions on '75 F-150: Will DMV have issues w/ factory setup? No Cat...

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2010, 12:07 PM
psychonoline
Cross-Country
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Emissions on '75 F-150: Will DMV have issues w/ factory setup? No Cat...

Hey, all...

I'm new to Arizona, don't know how draconian the emissions stuff is. I need to transfer my F-150 SuperCab over from Florida. I've never had to smog it before.

This is an EXTREMELY original truck. It does NOT have a catalytic converter or smog pump. From everything I can tell, this is how the F-150s came from the factory for '75. My worry is, it looks like the DMV rules say that they are supposed to check for those things on ALL vehicles starting in '75 model year. It's running really well with a new tune-up, so I feel pretty good about the sniffer test.

Am I going to run into issues with the DMV on this? I would HOPE they would be satisfied with the as-built, factory configuration... I'm in Scottsdale, currently. Can anybody recommend a particular inspection station to go to? Anyone else run into issues with their F-150?

Thanks in advance,
-Josh

Old 03-29-2010, 06:51 PM
Bill W
Hotshot
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Hello Josh, I bet you will have issues with the no smog pump and no cat thing... even if it never came with one. they may give you a pass on it, but can't say for sure.

Pinal county has no emissions testing... move there.

either way good luck!

Old 03-29-2010, 10:12 PM
helifixer
Lead Driver
Received 3,675 Likes on 1,131 Posts
take your air filter out, turn the Idle screws in just until it starts to get rough, bump the Idle up a few rpm and take it in. it will be so lean it should pass with no problem, as far as not having a cat you might have to prove that it was factory with out one.

Old 03-30-2010, 08:12 AM
wabiker
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Draconian Indeed....worse than California in my experience.