Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Miss in motor.

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2010, 10:39 AM
yellowzx01
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Miss in motor.

I have a 91 F-150 with a 300 6-cyl. Its a 4wd and has about 180,000 on it.

I having a problem with it missing. I'm just a shade-tree mechanic and can't seem to get it figured out. I really hate to dump a large sum of money in to the truck just to get it fixed.

The problem I am having is the truck is missing. It starts up fine, and seems to run smooth when it's first started. Once the (what I call) electric choke kicks off after about 20 seconds or so, and the rpms come back down, it starts to miss. When I rev the motor it misses. When I drive it, it seems to do it in all gears all the way up through the RPM's. When climbing a uphill slope it will even seem to backfire up into the intake. I did a tune up on the truck about 8000 miles prior to this happening. Since it has done this, I have replaced the fuel filter, spark plugs (again), MAP sensor and the Air change temp sensor.

I've also had it ran on a computer, I think it was just a generic computer and it didn't bring back any codes. The service engine soon light isn't on in the truck either.

The motor doesn't have any kind or tick or knocking noise to it.

Any kind of help or point in the right direction would be appreciated.

Thanks Josh

Old 02-19-2010, 10:48 AM
nstueve
Postmaster
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
it's been a common theme this last week for clogged fuel injectors so I will throw that out there first but more probable would be the cap and rotor and maybe setting your timing. I doubt the timing though since you haven't messed with that yet and it ran fine before. Also you should get a new set of wires with the distributor cap and rotor... It makes more of a difference than you think...