1997 - 2003 F150 1997-2003 F150, 1997-1999 F250LD, 7700 & 2004 F150 Heritage

cv boots, idler arm

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2010, 09:08 AM
78bigbronco
Fleet Mechanic
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
cv boots, idler arm

Ok now I have done some research and have the correct name for stuff I have a few questions. The last time I looked under the truck (99 F150 4x4) I noticed the pass side inner CV boot was completely seperated in 2 and I could see the shaft and inside the housing. Driver side one has a small hole also. I tried doing a search here but CV isnt enough characters and boot and boots didnt seem to get me anything. What all is involved in replacing these? Any guides anyone has posted about before? Special tools? Appreciate any advice there.

While I am at it I am wondering if I should be doing my ball joints also. I inspected them and though I am no expert from what I can tell there was no ball-joint induced play in the wheels. It does have 150,000mi and since 100k the torsion bars have been cranked up about 1.5" over stock.

The only play was the passanger side tire would turn in and out slightly, and I traced that to the drag link flexing up and down, which I traced to the idler arm allowing the up and down movement slightly. I'm guessing thats going to need replaced as well, any special tools there? Doesnt look much to it I hope I can figure that one out myself.

Allong with these fixes is there anything else I should be replacing/inspecting/etc on the front end? I really dont want to replace too much just because I am in there, since I'll probably be selling the truck soon but not sure. But definatly need to fix the actual problems.

Old 02-15-2010, 09:23 AM
ncranchero
Postmaster

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts