393 buildup. Opinions/recommendations?

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2010, 04:11 PM
Kruse
Fleet Mechanic
Received 30 Likes on 27 Posts
393 buildup. Opinions/recommendations?

This year I will be building a 393 and would like some opinions on what parts to use.
Car is a '78 Mercury Zephyr Z7 and will see about 50-50 street/strip usage. (I love to see the look on a person's face when they get beat by a "grandma" car)
So far, this is what I have:
For starters, I already have a 351 roller block and also have a forged stroker crank that I picked up a few years ago from the Motorsport catalog. Heads will be AFRs. Exhaust headers will be handled by Hooker. The engine will see some serious RPMs.
Give me some opinions on the pistons, rods, camshaft and intake manifold. 93 octane is readily available. FWIW, I am an experienced mechanic and will be doing the buildup myself. TIA.

Old 02-06-2010, 06:12 PM
Beechkid
Received 207 Likes on 159 Posts
I am a fan of Isky cams & vavetrain (I think they are the only ones that check every spring before it leaves the shop). While I'm also not a big Edelbrock fan, I can say that i am very impressed with the air gap series manifolds!

Old 02-06-2010, 08:30 PM
BaronVonAutomatc
Postmaster
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
The Thumpr cams from Comp are the dog's nuts for a street machine. Well, only if you're looking for a thumping, choppy idle and 20 more hp than their XE grinds.

I've got JE forged pistons in my 331 and no worries so far. I hear Scat makes some good stuff too.

Old 02-08-2010, 05:52 PM
fordeverpower
Postmaster
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
you can use 302 pistons with stock 351w rod length of 5.956. Forged pistons are very durable but the most expensive. Hyper are an alloy that can runner tighter piston to bore clearences but are not as durable. Cast pistons are not a good idea.