1997-2006 Expedition & Navigator 1997 - 2002 and 2003 - 2006 Ford Expedition and Lincoln Navigator Discussion

2003 5.4 expadtion no fuel pressure

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2010, 12:27 AM
milehieagle
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2003 5.4 expadtion no fuel pressure

Hello all,

Let me first start off by saying I am a capable mechanic, I own a fuel pressure gauge, scan tool and a nice box of tools. I'm no ASE certified mechanic, but I can fix most anything without to much trouble. I have replaced plenty of fuel pumps, brakes, engines, transmissions, even rebuilt carbs on really old junk. It's enough to last me a lifetime and because of that, I am the family mechanic. I have searched these forums along with other Ford forums, have found similar problems, but no real solutions to mine. That said, here is my problem -

My brother-in-law Dan has a 2003 Expedition with the 5.4 triton, 4wd auto trans and it has a cable operated throttle body. He started it Friday morning, it ran for a minute or so, sputtered and died. After cranking on it a few times, I had him listen to the tank while key was turned on and he could not hear the pump. Told him I would be over Sat morning to check it out.

Sat morning, put the fuel pressure gauge on it, cycled the key several times and got 0 psi. Cranked engine over 3 times - 0 psi. Checked the inertia switch, 0 psi. Went to check the relay and fuse and got confused. There is no Power Distribution Box under the hood!? No bank of relays, nothing. Got out the owners manual and it showed there is only a fuse/relay center behind the right front kick panel. Found the relay / fuse list and diagram for the box. List showed R303 is fuel pump relay. Right on! But, box only goes to R203!? Checked list in book again, R303 is fuel pump relay, looked at box and diagram, no R303 in the box, only goes to R203!?!