Why does my F350 PSD have two batteries? - Page 2 - Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums



1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines SPONSORED BY:
Advertisement

Why does my F350 PSD have two batteries?

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #16  
Old 12-16-2009, 02:26 AM
redford's Avatar
redford redford is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Wausau WI
Posts: 17,924
redford has a superb reputationredford has a superb reputationredford has a superb reputationredford has a superb reputationredford has a superb reputationredford has a superb reputationredford has a superb reputationredford has a superb reputationredford has a superb reputationredford has a superb reputationredford has a superb reputation
The reason you have 2 batteries is because the truck manufacturers are in a conspiracy with the battery manufacturers. They all decided that if you could afford a diesel engine, then by golly you could also afford to pay for 2 batteries.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-16-2009, 02:30 AM
capn kirk capn kirk is offline
Posting Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,118
capn kirk is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.
a battery on each side keeps weight balanced for the high speed curves diesel pickups often encounter on the track... i thought everyone knew that
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-16-2009, 03:38 PM
snowman_44077's Avatar
snowman_44077 snowman_44077 is offline
Freshman User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Painesville, Ohio
Posts: 37
snowman_44077 is starting off with a positive reputation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim98TA View Post
I thought it was so they could fill that empty space on the drivers side.
Nothing a lead block can't fix!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-16-2009, 06:47 PM
QwkTrip's Avatar
QwkTrip QwkTrip is offline
Postmaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,615
QwkTrip is a splendid one to beholdQwkTrip is a splendid one to beholdQwkTrip is a splendid one to beholdQwkTrip is a splendid one to beholdQwkTrip is a splendid one to beholdQwkTrip is a splendid one to behold
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowboy65 View Post
On the 6.0 each glow plug draws 10-12 amps.
Then my guess was pretty darn good, I'd say.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-16-2009, 08:43 PM
408-COUPE's Avatar
408-COUPE 408-COUPE is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 12
408-COUPE is starting off with a positive reputation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by redford View Post
The reason you have 2 batteries is because the truck manufacturers are in a conspiracy with the battery manufacturers. They all decided that if you could afford a diesel engine, then by golly you could also afford to pay for 2 batteries.
lol lol thats funny right there
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 12-16-2009, 11:02 PM
America America is offline
Junior User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 53
America is starting off with a positive reputation.
Thanks Guys, looks like the charge worked fine, but we'll see after a few weeks.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-19-2010, 08:40 PM
johneBowman johneBowman is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
johneBowman is starting off with a positive reputation.
The Battery Light comes on sometimes while I am driving on my 2006 F250 Super Duty. The Alternator is putting out 14.2V when the light comes on. I was told that the battery were recently replaced. Any Ideas why?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-19-2010, 08:50 PM
Tim98TA Tim98TA is offline
Senior User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: St. Amant, La
Posts: 197
Tim98TA is starting off with a positive reputation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by johneBowman View Post
The Battery Light comes on sometimes while I am driving on my 2006 F250 Super Duty. The Alternator is putting out 14.2V when the light comes on. I was told that the battery were recently replaced. Any Ideas why?
Mine did the same for awhile. I had replaced the 2 yellow top AZ batteries with 2 red top Optimas. My alternator was putting out well too. It has now stopped. I dunno.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-19-2010, 08:52 PM
Mike F250 SD Mike F250 SD is offline
Senior User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 240
Mike F250 SD is starting off with a positive reputation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by redford View Post
The reason you have 2 batteries is because the truck manufacturers are in a conspiracy with the battery manufacturers. They all decided that if you could afford a diesel engine, then by golly you could also afford to pay for 2 batteries.
After a 13 hour day I needed a good laugh. Thanks !!!
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-19-2010, 09:53 PM
Fishin76's Avatar
Fishin76 Fishin76 is offline
Posting Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canton, IL
Posts: 1,711
Fishin76 has a good reputation on FTE.Fishin76 has a good reputation on FTE.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowboy65 View Post
On the 6.0 each glow plug draws 10-12 amps.
Glow plugs work on resistance. Cold, they may draw up to 25 amps each. as they warm up the draw will go down. when they are all fired up and hot, 7-10 amps each.

So it pays to let the GP's heat up thoroughly in the winter ( well after the WTS light on 7.3L's). That way you will have more amps available to start with.

I shot a video a while back for some OBS guys on another forum. These are glowplugs that aren't supposed to burn out. (they didn't either).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e7Azfql5AEU
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-21-2010, 01:05 PM
dagren99 dagren99 is offline
Posting Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Virginia - SW (Riner)
Posts: 1,102
dagren99 is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.dagren99 is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.
Just recently (last wk) replaced both in my 7.3 - parts guy (kid really) tested each - batt 1 0amps @ 8v & batt 2 750cca @ 11.8v. He said - oh you just need 1 batt - I told him no, I need both since they are connected in parallel and the 1 good batt has been trying to charge the bad one & will probably trash the new battery in short order - when you have 2 its better for them to be balanced so one doesn't draw current from the other. Buy same date code batts if at all possible - they'll last longer since they are of equal age
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12-21-2010, 01:30 PM
STEELHQ STEELHQ is offline
Freshman User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 48
STEELHQ is starting off with a positive reputation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vijay View Post
Ok, since you are in the market for new batteries, I suggest you to buy a higher CCA than stock. I use 875 CCA yellow top ones from Autozone. Optimas are little pricey but are very good...just a thought.
Im a Interstate battery guy
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12-21-2010, 01:51 PM
bunklash's Avatar
bunklash bunklash is offline
Elder User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Northwest Florida
Posts: 734
bunklash is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.
Good info. It's convinced me to buy a new battery. I replaced one Motorcraft with an AZ Yellowtop shortly after I bought the truck 2 years ago. They've only gone dead once when lights and stuff were on for awhile, but did charge right up. I'm not willing to replace a two year old battery, but I have no way of knowing how old the remaining Motorcraft is.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 12-21-2010, 08:35 PM
sandmanf250 sandmanf250 is offline
Posting Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,246
sandmanf250 is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.
batteries

in 1983 i bought a f350 with a 351 h-o engine.i had a choice of 2 batts or 1 bat and and a toolbox where the second batt sat. since i lived in fla. i went with tha 1 batt and the tool box. fast forward to new york in the 90's,2 batts are way to go ,and change them together to save your ficm.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 12-21-2010, 09:41 PM
Kajtek1's Avatar
Kajtek1 Kajtek1 is offline
Postmaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: CA Bay Area
Posts: 3,524
Kajtek1 has a very good reputation on FTE.Kajtek1 has a very good reputation on FTE.Kajtek1 has a very good reputation on FTE.
Personally I love my dual battery setup. Not only I have a 1300 lb liftgate that I can use for loading up to 10,000 lb of stuff on my flatbed and still have power for engine start up, but I am also using 8,000 lb winch for loading 8-9k lb forklift on my bed. That takes some serious current for quite few seconds.
To top it -just weeks ago my alternator failed on night drive. I drove 40 miles to the destination with lights on the truck and trailer on and still had enough power for couple of morning starts.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
battery light on dash NYRider 6.4L Power Stroke Diesel 4 01-23-2013 06:28 AM
Battery Light??? NYRider 6.4L Power Stroke Diesel 0 01-22-2013 03:55 AM
Dual Batteries JE917 1999 to 2016 Super Duty 7 07-10-2010 08:27 PM
Dual Batteries, Dual Replacement artfuldodger 1999 to 2016 Super Duty 6 02-11-2008 11:46 PM
Why Two Batteries? drive_old_ride_new 1968-2013 Full Size Vans 9 12-17-2007 10:50 PM


Go Back   Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums >

Tags
batteries, battery, charge, diesel, dual, duty, f250, f350, ford, forum, jumping, pickups, psd, super, truck

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 AM.


This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. FordŽ is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company.