shaving rocker pedestals

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-2009, 11:55 PM
Old Brown Truck
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
shaving rocker pedestals

I'm new to having a 351M. Of coarse the day I bought the truck it was a 400. I have a 79 F150 4x4 w/ NP435/NP205. I haven't actually measured the stroke, but the numbers in the VIN and the valve covers indicate 351M. I've had prior experience with a couple of 302's and a couple of 390's.

I'm aware that the 351M/400 has a reputation for poor oil pressure on worn engines. Mine seems to be no exception. When I first start the motor, it is quietest and the oil pressure gauge reads slightly to the higher side of the normal range of the gauge. It doesn't take long to see the gauge start to read less and less. It hasn't gotten out of the "normal" range as defined on the stock gauge yet but it gets to the low end of it especially when its warmer out. I had the lube place run an engine oil flush, and refill with 10/40. I've had the valve covers off and noted filthy carbon crud coating the pushrods and rockers which I wiped away. I figure the engine is pretty filthy inside.

I had a shop that was working on my front hubs/brakes look at the engine. They looked under the passenger side valve cover and reported some slop on a couple of the rockers, and milled down the rocker arm pedestals to tighten up the valve lash. I think that things are a bit quieter, but I feel the same procedure needs doing on the drivers side. I figure that this is a temporary band-aid, and wonder about whether I'd regret this milling to my heads if and when I decide to rebuild the engine (if I rebuild this engine).