Need advice on pinion seal replacement

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2009, 06:09 PM
jade79
Laughing Gas
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Need advice on pinion seal replacement

Hello,
I have a friend who has a 2003 Ranger 4wd and needs help replacing a leaky pinion seal on the front differential. I'm new to Rangers, but know my way around other Fords and Chevys.
I'm concerned about disturbing the pinion bearing preload and getting it reset correctly. I have no clue what type if dif it has in it, but the parts stores are only listing one part number for the seal. The shop manual has no information on replacing the seal or setting pinion bearing preload.
Any advice or suggestions are greatly appreciated, Thanks.

Old 11-01-2009, 08:44 PM
Rockledge
Post Fiend
Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts
Here's what my '98 Ford Manual says:

SECTION 205-03: Front Drive Axle/Differential — Dana 35

Drive Pinion Seal

Special Tool(s)

- 2-Jaw Puller

- Companion Flange Holding Tool

- Converter Oil Seal Remover

- Pinion Seal Replacer

Removal

CAUTION: This operation disturbs the differential pinion bearing preload. Carefully reset the preload during assembly.

1. Raise and support the vehicle. For additional information, refer to Section 100-02 .

2. Index-mark the front driveshaft and pinion flange.

3. Disconnect the front driveshaft from the pinion flange, and position it aside.
- Remove the bolts and the universal joint spider retainers.
- Disconnect the front driveshaft from the pinion flange.
- Position the front driveshaft aside.

4. Measure the pinion bearing preload.
- Using a Nm (inch-pound) torque wrench, measure the torque required to maintain pinion rotation. Record the measurement.

5. Index-mark the pinion flange and the pinion stem.

6. Use the Companion Flange Holding Tool to hold the pinion flange while removing the nut.

CAUTION: Place a drain pan under the differential housing.

7. Using the 2-Jaw Puller , remove the pinion flange.