Brake Adjustment Question

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2009, 08:40 PM
mercman86
Elder User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Brake Adjustment Question

Hello everyone:

While removing the drums on my '07 Viking with 10" Dexter drum brakes to clean and repack the bearings and change the seals, I noticed that the friction material on the shoes were severely cracked and some of the material was flaking off. The trailer has been towed about 10,000 miles. Anyway, I ended up replacing the shoes and springs and cleaned some minor corrosion off the drum where the magnets make contact. The magnet appeared to be in good shape as did the wiring. I adjusted the shoes so there was light drag on the drum, just like every drum brake ive done (however this is my first time fooling with electrics). Heres where i think i may have a problem. I didn't touch the output on my controller, when i first tried the brakes with the new shoes, they did nothing so i upped the output. They grabbed a little bit. Even with the gain turned all the way up they just barely stopped the car and trailer at 10 mph. Before i started they worked perfectly where i had it set at about half output, at full output they could bring the whole rig to a halt and give you whiplash and now this?? I adjusted the shoes, putting some more drag on the drum and drove around with my controller set where i usually have it and it seemed to be ok, however when i do the manual overide they barely grab and even at full output it isn't the same as it used to be. They barely stop the car and trailer. I checked them again and the drivers side wheel assy was hot to the touch and the pass side was cool. This was after about an hour of mixed driving. The controller is Tekonsha Voyager and i have had very good results using this controller. Sorry this is long but i would appreciate any help from the experts out there to avoid having an "roadside emergency"

Thanks!!!!!

Old 10-21-2009, 10:10 PM
Steina
CO River Rat