Sponsored by: DP Tuner

low compression

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2009, 11:13 AM
stemo76
Senior User

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
low compression

looks like my truck suffers from low compression. here are the numbers I got after I warmed it up
7=340 8=340
5=360 6=350
3=350 4=340
1=340 2=380

At this point I am not sure if fixing it or just replacing the entire motor with another is a better option. I am going to do a leakdown test to try to find out why were its going.

I have an early 99 so maybe replacing it with the later style would be a good idea. What is all involved in swapping up. I know that the turbo and the airbox is different. Anything else that I will have to concider? Are all the blocks the same?

Old 10-04-2009, 11:36 AM
Izzy351
Post Fiend
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I'm not an expert, but those numbers don't seem that bad to me, depending on miles. How many are on it?

Old 10-04-2009, 11:40 AM
Bigcat350
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Check out this thread. Your numbers are not good but it should still run for a long time with proper maintenance.
https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/8...n-numbers.html

Old 10-04-2009, 01:04 PM
Izzy351
Post Fiend
Torquing down the injectors & rockers are a very good idea, if it's never been done. Just for grins, I checked one of mine before I pulled the injectors out and it took about a 3/4 turn! Who knows what the rest were. The rockers were in pretty good shape -- some required a little more on them, but nothing like the one injector I checked. My new ones are all torqued down to spec now.

Rockers are 20 ft-lbs, injector hold-down bolts are 120 inch-lbs.

Old 10-04-2009, 01:42 PM
stemo76
Senior User

Originally Posted by Izzy351