Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

She just feels slow......

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2009, 09:53 AM
jmonintwo
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
She just feels slow......

Forgive me in advance...I'm a newb and I'm not near the truck right now.

OK, I used to have a '90 / I-6 / M5OD / not sure about the rear end.

I sold that truck and bought a '95 / I-6 / M5OD / not sure of rear end in it either. However, I do know that the gearing is "shorter". Meaning the 95 won't go as fast in each gear as the 90.

The 95 idles, accellerates and cruises smooth, gets about 16-17 mpg on the hwy (I think) but, it doesn't accellearate as fast as the old truck. The difference is really noticable to me. So I cleaned the injectors (several rounds of seafoam), plugs, wires, filter. I could tell it helped it idle and run smoother but it is still slower. Checked the brakes, they're not dragging.

I kindof forgot about it and learned to live with it till this weekend when a friend borrowed it and said somethng about it.

So what do you think guys? Let the ideas flow.

I wonder if the cat is "plugged" a little, not letting it breath. That's about the only thing my newbie mind can come up with....which might not be possible. I thought I might cut the cat out, install a temporary straight pipe and see if that helps ? ? ?

Thanks in advance ! !

Old 09-18-2009, 10:05 AM
phoneman91
Cargo Master
Received 28 Likes on 26 Posts
What size tires do you have on the truck?? Look at the VIN sticker on the driver's side door jam-near the striker plate and see what the axle code is. Should be a two character code.

Those 4.9 sixes should have good low speed torque-unless the overall gearing is too high because of tire size or axle gearing.

Old 09-18-2009, 10:25 AM
barr75
Junior User