First motor rebuild ever - FE 360 - Working updates

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2009, 06:08 PM
Grizzle33
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
First motor rebuild ever - FE 360 - Working updates

Hello everyone! My name is Josh Grizzle and I am VERY new to the concept of rebuilding engines. I have done hours of research and purchased several books to aid me in this lengthy excursion. I also have at my disposal a few friends that could come to my rescue when needed, so I'm not %100 in the dark.

I purchased a white/blue 1971 Ford F250 with a FE 360 Automatic in June, 2009 - Since then I have done every imaginable "Tune up" that a guy like me knows how to. Oil change / Valve cover gaskets / sending units / plugs / wires / cap / and even a new distributor (That was fun) I knew at some point I would need to do rebuild this motor. It wasn't until I started itching to fix this exhaust leak on the passenger side manifold /exhaust area. The bolt near the #4 cylinder was broken some time ago, and therefore the truck is VERY LOUD. It wasn't to bad at first, but I've since then grown tired of the rumble.

My Father and I have wanted to rebuild and engine for a long time, so here's our chance! I have been known to take on projects that are out of my league and overcame the odds to complete them.

Here's what I am looking for in this rebuild:

1) Near stock rebuild.
2) Low budget (I know, FE = Freaking expensive)
3) No time limit really - so I can take my time and do things right.
4) Quite operation. I'm not looking to hotrod this truck by any means - that will be the next project.