Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

Water to Air intercooler?

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2009, 07:12 AM
Firebird375
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Water to Air intercooler?

I am wanting to get my exhaust temps down(most of my drive is a 5-8% grade) and maybe run a little more boost(10PSI currently). I've looked at installing an air-air intercooler, but a water-air looks like it could be much easier. Looking at the hardware, I think I could find room and clock the turbo to a degree to run the pipe. My biggest question, is there any alternative to the stock "intake hat"? Something maybe lower profile or a lower angle to accept the the intake pipe?

Has anyone had any experience with this? Its fairly inexpensive and is proven to have great results in gassers. Let me know your thoughts guys.

Here is a generic kit:
http://www.frozenboost.com/product_i...05ead248cde36d

Old 09-01-2009, 01:34 PM
timothyr
Senior User
I have a lot of experience with turbo gas engines, and am learning about turbo diesels....Your thinking is 100% correct as far as reducing egt....the cooler your incoming air, the cooler it will be when it comes out. As far as the product you were looking at, my biggest concern would be the core size. From looking at it i would am not sure it would be able to keep up with the overall cfm at full boost....although at that price I would be very tempted to try it as you wont hurt anything.

Old 09-02-2009, 07:30 AM
Firebird375
Freshman User
Yeah, I'd like to know how many cfm they flow.