Convert to Dual Fuel Gas AND Propane Anybody done one?

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2009, 03:49 PM
oddshot
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Convert to Dual Fuel Gas AND Propane Anybody done one?

I'm building up a 82 F100 ... 302 V8, 4X4, Stick ... otherwise plain vanilla.

I'm thinking about a possible conversion to dual fuels ... Gasoline and Propane.

Anybody done one?

Any kits out there?

Anybody know what to stay away from?

I was a mechanic for 30 years, had my own shops for over 10. Basic skills shouldn't be a problem.

oddshot

Old 08-14-2009, 09:02 PM
amish77
Cargo Master
Ok this is do-able with a carb. There is a kit available at www.gotpropane.com that will likely work for you. Ian from Extreme 4x4 used this for one of his projects.

The only thing that I was a little iffy on was the implementation of them. You get a 3 position switch, left is gas, right is propane, and middle is neither. With the switch on gas you have to turn to neither, let the engine begin to stumble, then go to propane. I hate letting my engine start to stumble.

Old 09-17-2009, 01:30 PM
fraso
Senior User
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
The GotPropane systems are geared towards off-road systems and use DOT (lift-truck) tanks. For on-road vehicles, these tanks are generally not permissible and ASME tanks would be a better choice. You should familiarize yourself with the regulations in NFPA 58: Liquefied Petroleum Gas Code.

Your truck is early enough that it probably doesn't need any add-on propane system controllers. Later vehicles would have required sort some of integrated processor from Dual Curve but these products are now obsolete. Having two advance curves for your truck would be ideal and the only commercially available dual-curve system I'm aware of now is based on MegaJolt Lite. AutoSport Labs makes this type of ignition system.

A dual fuel conversion for your truck would probably be similar to this Dual Fuel L'il Red Express Truck or this Dual Fuel TBI Chevy Truck.