1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2008 F350 6.4 Diesel automatic - towing

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2009, 11:04 PM
Walterg
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2008 F350 6.4 Diesel automatic - towing

Hey ford experts. I just got myself this truck, and I have a few questions I might run by you.... forgive me if they appear strange as I am new to trucks - and towing....
1) Background: Empty and running at 55-60 mph gets me fuel consumption at about 19 mpg (US) {23mpg Can in case I screwed up the math}. When towing a 24 ft 7500 lb 5th wheel (supposedly 1/2 ton towable) which I just bought, consumption increases to 10 mpg - and I DO notice the trailer on start up and steep hills. This to me seems like a pretty extreme drop for such a powerhouse of a truck. Ford just looked at the unit (for ESP purchase) and say there is nothing wrong with it. I also notice that even on relatively flat ground the turbo is running right around 20 psi most of the time while rpm stays between 1500-1700. I felt using tow/haul I was using more fuel (rpm stayed higher longer), and I don't now use cruise control either. T/H will be used for long downhills but when need to reduce speed (e.g. entering a community, rpms stay up there even tho' feels like it should be in a higher gear). Should I be concerned? Should I be doing something different?
2) Will switching to smaller wheels make a difference? any complications with that (other than odometer)?
3) Will lowering the cab/box make a difference? any complications with that (other than ruining the truck's appearance)?
4) Will a deflector over the cab make a difference? I heard mythbusters nixed the idea of a louvered/netted tailgate.
5) Transmission - any way to control OD or D selection? I can use the accelerator to knock it out of OD but have no control on when it shifts up... Should I like this feature?