1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

NewBie queation about Tow/Haul Mode Transmission

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2009, 10:19 AM
bataradena
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
NewBie queation about Tow/Haul Mode Transmission

OK, I'm a newbie with some questions that may be buried in this forum but just knowing what to ask is the biggest problem in performing a forum search. So please if there is a link that address my questions let me know and thanks.
First of all I have to confess for over fifteen years I've been a Chevy truck owner but please don't hold that against me. Today after owning a 25 foot toy trailer (7K lbs) my gas truck (454) has come to the end of it's life. So let me say this out loud, Ford 'got it right' in the Super Duty truck! Dodge Cummings looks great but the year I'm interested in or afford, the Dodge automatic transmission come up short for getting the torque on the ground. And for GM well…..I let that go for now.
So saying all this stuff I have came to a decision, 2005 or newer F350 (SRW) or the F250 Super Duty, 4X4, crew cab, long bed is the truck. Can't believe I'm saying that.
I've been reading about issues with the reliability problem for (6.0L Diesel) EGR being the root of the problem, injectors and with the ECM it's appeared the problem had been identified and corrected, making the 6.0L diesel a good reliability engine for towing. Let me know if I have this correct, this is important!
Now I'm reading about the Tow/Haul Mode for the super duty truck and not sure if this is an option or standard equipment for the 2005 Super Duty truck. I have seen on Craiglists some 2005 F250 pictures of the steering column and noticed the only (D 3 2 1) for the transmission, is this a four speed transmission (4R100) not the five speed automatic transmission (5R110w) which I looking for towing.
Thank in advance for replying

Thanks