1973 - 1979 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Dentsides Ford Truck
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Moser

Buying an old truck - what to avoid/get?

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2009, 12:48 PM
chanman17
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Buying an old truck - what to avoid/get?

Hi,

I'm looking to buy my first old truck. I commute to work 30 miles round trip per day, and sometimes take 90 mile roundtrip day trips. I'm looking for something that is reasonably reliable for a 1970's model. My question is, is it reasonable to drive a 1970s truck as your primary car?

I don't expect to get great gas mileage. I live in San Diego and have been looking around. I drove this the other day:
See Image Below.

It seems to drive fine, although I have no mechanical knowledge when it comes to the underworkings of a car.

Basically, I want an old truck that is reliable. Is a 460 too big? Is there much difference b/w a 460 and 350?

Thanks for your help,
Michael

Last edited by chanman17; 08-04-2009 at 12:54 PM. Reason: attached img instead of URL
Old 08-04-2009, 01:11 PM
berry1234
Postmaster
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I would steer clear of that truck unless the tranny or engine was rebuilt recently. It towed a 5th wheel and probrably took a beating. A lot of trucks pop up for around this price in San Diego-where I am from, I would keep looking. A truck with a C6 is a good choice as it's a tough tranny.

Old 08-04-2009, 01:14 PM
montana_highboy
Post Fiend
Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts