2005 F150 radio remove - Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums



2004 - 2008 F150 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008 Ford F150's with 5.4 V8, 4.6 V8 engine

2005 F150 radio remove

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 07-30-2009, 01:44 PM
dougsbart dougsbart is offline
Freshman User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 43
dougsbart is starting off with a positive reputation.
2005 F150 radio remove

i have just purchased this truck and i want to pull out factory radio am/fm w/single cd to see if it has pre amps or something for my ipod and or my sirius. it has an aux button, but no jack. if not i want to replace w/aftermarket radio. looking for procedure for removing wood trim and radio w/out breaking the trim. i know ford is usually pretty good about eassy removal in my experience, but this trim doesn't act like it just pops out and i see no hidden screws. i have pics but dont know how to post them. thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-30-2009, 10:24 PM
bridge's Avatar
bridge bridge is online now
Postmaster
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: League City, TX
Posts: 2,624
bridge has a great reputation on FTE.bridge has a great reputation on FTE.bridge has a great reputation on FTE.bridge has a great reputation on FTE.bridge has a great reputation on FTE.
On an '05 don't bother looking for an Aux input or pre-amp outs, you don't have them. Start looking for an good double din HU. To remove the trim around the radio, open the ash tray and gently pull out on the trim bezel, there are three or four clips on either side. You will also need to remove all the AC control harness from the back of the bezel.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-31-2009, 03:22 PM
dougsbart dougsbart is offline
Freshman User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 43
dougsbart is starting off with a positive reputation.
What is a double din Hu

Can you tell me what a double din HU is? I would like to keep a stock radio if possible, but don't want to put out what ford would want for a new one. My radio does have an aux button on it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-31-2009, 04:23 PM
paperhanger paperhanger is offline
Freshman User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 36
paperhanger is starting off with a positive reputation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dougsbart View Post
Can you tell me what a double din HU is? I would like to keep a stock radio if possible, but don't want to put out what ford would want for a new one. My radio does have an aux button on it.
Look on ebay for a Shaker 500 radio out of a mustang. And be sure to buy one from the same year as your truck. I have one in mine and it rocks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-31-2009, 04:32 PM
bigdaddyII's Avatar
bigdaddyII bigdaddyII is offline
Postmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Southern Louisiana
Posts: 4,103
bigdaddyII is a splendid one to beholdbigdaddyII is a splendid one to beholdbigdaddyII is a splendid one to beholdbigdaddyII is a splendid one to beholdbigdaddyII is a splendid one to beholdbigdaddyII is a splendid one to behold
The trim does pop out. I started with a finger on each side by the slide out cup holders, once those two pop out the others are easy. The AUX button on your radio is useless without a PIE adaptor:
http://www.discountcarstereo.com/detail.aspx?ID=813

You will have to get one of those or just change the radio.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-31-2009, 04:33 PM
bridge's Avatar
bridge bridge is online now
Postmaster
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: League City, TX
Posts: 2,624
bridge has a great reputation on FTE.bridge has a great reputation on FTE.bridge has a great reputation on FTE.bridge has a great reputation on FTE.bridge has a great reputation on FTE.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dougsbart View Post
Can you tell me what a double din HU is? I would like to keep a stock radio if possible, but don't want to put out what ford would want for a new one. My radio does have an aux button on it.
Double Din (DD) refers to the size of the headunit (HU). The F150 has a big radio that is twice the size of a standard radio. Most people see this as a positive thing because that means our trucks will accommodate most aftermarket navigation or DVD headunits.

Lots of Ford radios have aux buttons, that does not mean there is an aux port. Some even have a phone button but, alas they have no way to integrate a phone. It just means Fords A/V supplier uses the same parts and faceplates for their higher and lower end units. Depending on your model number you may be able to buy and aftermarket aux input adapter. You can go to PACs website and see if one is available.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-26-2009, 09:47 AM
rayrohret rayrohret is offline
Freshman User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 27
rayrohret is starting off with a positive reputation.
I am trying to remove the trim so I can get to the ashtray. It won't stay closed. How do I remove the trim?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-26-2009, 09:54 AM
Fishin76's Avatar
Fishin76 Fishin76 is offline
Posting Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canton, IL
Posts: 1,713
Fishin76 has a good reputation on FTE.Fishin76 has a good reputation on FTE.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rayrohret View Post
I am trying to remove the trim so I can get to the ashtray. It won't stay closed. How do I remove the trim?
Quote:
Originally Posted by bridge
To remove the trim around the radio, open the ash tray and gently pull out on the trim bezel, there are three or four clips on either side. You will also need to remove all the AC control harness from the back of the bezel.
Does this help?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-26-2009, 10:17 AM
rayrohret rayrohret is offline
Freshman User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 27
rayrohret is starting off with a positive reputation.
I'm trying it, don't want to break any expensive plastic!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-02-2009, 05:31 AM
Zenkem's Avatar
Zenkem Zenkem is offline
Freshman User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 43
Zenkem is starting off with a positive reputation.
We had a thread on this subject about six months ago that disappeared. I installed this system in about thirty minutes and have been enjoying my Zune ever since. It's a plug and play I had to get a constant power source from the cigarette lighter then grounded it to the chasis. The unit it self mounted nicley on top of the ash tray assy (use short screws). Everything is hidden 'cept the jack which I put next to the cigarette lighter. I highly recomend this system to anyone....


http://www.crutchfield.com/p_469FRD4...er.html?tp=422
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-02-2009, 04:23 PM
magnet1's Avatar
magnet1 magnet1 is offline
Senior User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bethlehem, PA
Posts: 278
magnet1 is starting off with a positive reputation.
I purchased a cheap interior removal set from Harbor Freight for about $7.00. It is a 7 pc. set of different size pics, chissels and knives all made out of plastic just for interior panels. They work great by not allowing you to put too much pressure on the pieces when prying them out. Also when you get your new head unit; Make it easy on yourself and get a plug adapter from the main harness to the new unit. You can get these from Best Buy for around $20.00. It seems on the pricey side, but will save alot of time and aggravation.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-25-2010, 02:17 PM
rcsutton rcsutton is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
rcsutton is starting off with a positive reputation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by paperhanger View Post
Look on ebay for a Shaker 500 radio out of a mustang. And be sure to buy one from the same year as your truck. I have one in mine and it rocks.
I have been told that the mounts in the F150 are not the same, did you jsut bolt in and plug in, or does it require a wiring harness and different mounts?
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-26-2010, 12:37 AM
Gearbanger 101's Avatar
Gearbanger 101 Gearbanger 101 is offline
Senior User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 431
Gearbanger 101 is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.Gearbanger 101 is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.
If you're looking for an easy way to add Ipod and Sirius to a stock radio....look no further than the bottom of my post. I had this PAC set up that I'm selling in my truck for a few months and it worked flawlessly.

The only reason I changed it was because I wanted DVD, GPS, IPod and Bluetooth all in one and opted for an aftermarket head unit.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-05-2010, 04:39 PM
crowndog1 crowndog1 is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cotter, AR
Posts: 24
crowndog1 is starting off with a positive reputation.
Hey paperhanger, I bought a Shaker 500 for my screw for the mp3 capabilities but I have a stupid question. Where do you plug in the mp3? am I missing a wire that plugs into the back? Any help or even pictures would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-05-2010, 04:50 PM
Brack1's Avatar
Brack1 Brack1 is offline
Junior User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tooele, UT
Posts: 92
Brack1 is starting off with a positive reputation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by crowndog1 View Post
Hey paperhanger, I bought a Shaker 500 for my screw for the mp3 capabilities but I have a stupid question. Where do you plug in the mp3? am I missing a wire that plugs into the back? Any help or even pictures would be appreciated.
Correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe that just means that you can play CDs with MP3s burned onto them. Not quite PMP integration, but still pretty cool to be able to fit hundreds of songs on one CD complete with Title and album information.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will RDS CD player from Explorer work in my Ranger? 1998Ranger25L153CID Ranger & B-Series 7 08-03-2016 08:37 AM
Replce the factory radio in a 2008 E350 GGerald 1968-2013 Full Size Vans 6 02-27-2016 06:00 PM
radio problems zloetakoe Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) 3 08-27-2014 08:56 AM
removing chrome trim from windshield Kalve 1973 - 1979 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks 18 03-28-2011 11:55 PM
Dash Trim Removal To Access Radio? dfooch 1999 to 2016 Super Duty 8 08-24-2010 10:25 PM


Go Back   Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums >

Tags
150, 2005, 2006, ash, ashtray, aux, auxiliary, close, f150, ford, port, radio, remove, removing, tray

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 PM.