1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Driving on beach sand...

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2009, 10:21 AM
Headviking
Posting Guru

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by reagan4ever
I have been driving on the beach for 25 years in Cape Hatteras. The key is to drop the tire pressure to 20psi. Never try to speed your way through. If you feel like the truck keeps bogging down, drop the pressure to 18psi. I have never been stuck by following this rule. Many locals in Hatteras leave their tires ar 20psi year round. When I am there for a week at a time, I leave it at 20psi and drive slow around town. Stop into the local fishing store and get a little toy that screws on to the valve that automatically reduces the air to 20psi. They work great and save the back! Have fun.
Beautiful part of the cost. I spend about a week sometimes twice a year along that beach. We stay in Manteo at a condo I have access to.

Old 07-29-2009, 10:35 AM
reagan4ever
New User
we sometimes go up to Manteo to the Weeping Radish for a great bier. On a rainy day we take the kids to the aquarium or to Fort Raliegh. Yeah, it is a nice town!

Old 07-29-2009, 10:41 AM
jdadamsjr
Post Fiend
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Home depot/black & Decker has a selection of cigarette lighter powered air compressors...

depending on the one you get, they may have all kinds of features... this is the one I got:
http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/...8&ddkey=Search
I usually store it in the back of the Ex..

IF you use it off your battery, it will take a while, but I air up my Excursion tires with one all the time...
just have a good charge on your battery (or if you are still in the boonies, maybe idle while doing it )

At any rate, you probably won't need it until you get back to 'civilization' at which point there should be service staions...