Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Hitch capacity / tongue weight question

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2009, 08:27 PM
afonda
Laughing Gas
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Hitch capacity / tongue weight question

Hey fellas... I have a potential trailer that I may be hauling...

My trailer hitch is Class IV rated at 750 lbs tongue weight.

This trailer is a travel trailer rated at 40 ft long, 10,500 lbs and states it has a dry hitch weight of 1600 lbs.

How can I haul a trailer such as this? I know my truck will pull it, but whats up with the tongue / hitch weight???

How do I make this work?

Old 07-16-2009, 08:37 PM
sideshow
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
i'm no expert, but i'd say not unless you upgrade your receiver. get a class V (2 1/2 inch receiver) and a weight distribution hitch. something like this http://www.etrailer.com/pc-WD5~66006.htm. i have seen class v receiver (http://www.redtrailers.com/ShowItem.asp?id=45007) that are rated to carry almost that weight without the distribution bars, but i'd not recommend it. it will ride A LOT better with the wt. distribution. i used to have a 6 ton hudson trailer that I towed my 7500 lb skid loader on (total trailer weight of about 10500lbs) and it rode almost as smooth as my gooseneck.

Old 07-16-2009, 08:50 PM
F350-6
Post Fiend
Received 24 Likes on 20 Posts
I'll agree the weight distribution hitch is the way to go. Don't know if you need the 2 1/2" receiver frame. All my heavy towing is with a gooseneck.

Old 07-16-2009, 09:05 PM
sideshow
Elder User
i don't know if the 2 1/2" is necessary, but most of the class v's i've seen were. most of the 2" one's weren't rated but for 1200-1500 tongue wt even with the WD. i just recently traded for a little 26 ft TT. i was building a covered porch and the customer said they'd trade the camper for building the porch 4' longer. sounded good to me. i'll mainly use it as a jobsite camper, to crash in on the jobs that require weeks of work 2-3 hrs away.