Check engine light and codes

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2009, 08:04 PM
foreverinlove
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Check engine light and codes

Hi, I hope I am in the right place. I am a newbie here (Hi everyone) Anyways, I went and had emissions done today it came back with code P0401 of course EGR flow insufficient D. The weird thing though is that my check engine light was not on! It had been on in the past and we had to change the battery terminals (that was 3 or 4 months ago) so it never came back on. Also, when my dad had the truck he had already replaced the EGR valve (about 1 year ago). So guys any other ideas as to what it may be? All your help will be much appreciated! Thanks.
Jodi

Old 06-25-2009, 08:46 PM
Salty69
Freshman User
Not sure if this is the case, but some codes clear them selves, others just turn the light off but remain in the memory and require a manual clearing. If that's the case, some auto parts stores will check and clear codes for free.

Old 06-25-2009, 08:53 PM
projectSHO89
Hotshot
Received 873 Likes on 725 Posts
That code is probably the most common one discussed around here.

Plug it into the SEARCH tool for hundreds of posts.

Old 06-25-2009, 09:16 PM
foreverinlove
New User
Thank you Salty69! Project I have read about the code EGR valve, Dpser(sp?) and so on. What is making me weary is that the fact the light after changing the battery terminals is not coming on anymore. Even when you turn the key but not crank the engine it still won't illuminate. I have checked the fuses and wiggled some wires, lol.

Old 06-26-2009, 06:20 AM
projectSHO89
Hotshot
Received 873 Likes on 725 Posts
If the CEL doesn't come on when you turn the key on, the bulb is probably burned out. If so, that should have caused you to automatically fail the emissions test.

Old 06-26-2009, 03:56 PM
foreverinlove
New User