1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

F47 Canadian Born

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2009, 07:50 PM
kmule
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
F47 Canadian Born

Hello to all,
Being a newbie I was advised by Julie to start here. I am now the proud owner of a 49 F47 delivery van. So far it seems to be without too much rust and runs but drives like a truck. It has that wander steering that some have already mentioned in this forum. My first thought on making it a local driver would be to convert to disc brakes up front and move to a 12 volt system. Any advice as to how to procee will be welcome. i have started a gallery of pictures.

cheers,
kmule

Old 04-30-2009, 07:54 PM
havi
I'll have the Roast Duck
Received 45 Likes on 28 Posts
Welcome to the board! Panels are great.

Old 04-30-2009, 08:05 PM
kmule
Freshman User
Thanks Havi,
I've seen you name throughout the forum. Any suggestions on where to start will be helpful.

Old 04-30-2009, 08:06 PM
56panelford
FTE Legend
Received 4,132 Likes on 2,656 Posts
Welcome

You have a wonderful start to a very nice project, looks as though there has been some work done to it in the past but a very clean start, congrates and welcome aboard.

John

Old 04-30-2009, 08:12 PM
-Jim G
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Welcome kmule!
I looked through your gallery pictures and I think you have a great looking truck. I have that 'wander steering' too. I like it to drive like a truck, but I think that I am going to work on making the steering a bit better this summer.

Old 04-30-2009, 08:20 PM
kmule
Freshman User
Elder & senior

Thanks guys,
I guess the age of my machine has dated me. I'm older than it is. I like it driving like a truck but have seen articles on the toyota steering mod and that might make it a better daily driver. I drive the back roads and would like to get it up to 55 and not hit the guy in the other lane.

Old 04-30-2009, 10:31 PM
tip49
Cargo Master