6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

Howes fuel treatment

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2009, 04:56 PM
04F-250mark
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Howes fuel treatment

I finally found some of the howes fuel stuff and was wandering if it's worth a shot. I run diesel kleen grey bottle and I know not to mix but does it do anything better different ?

Old 04-24-2009, 07:20 PM
powerstroke72
Super Moderator
Received 35 Likes on 21 Posts
Here's an analysis that has been posted here before. Pretty good info. I still run DK because I've had good luck with it and the Howe's isn't as easy to find.

http://www.johnfjensen.com/Diesel_fu...itive_test.pdf

Old 04-24-2009, 07:40 PM
1957F100
Elder User
I work as a mechanic at a commercial truck shop and we sell howes. It seems to me that howes is much more known in the trucking industry. If you pick up any trucker magazine there is a good chance you will see a couple advertisements for howes. Ive never seen howes in a store and i still run diesel kleen in my own pickup. Maybe ill have to borrow a bottle of this howes from work and see if i notice any difference running it over the diesel kleen.

Old 04-24-2009, 08:09 PM
Beachbumcook
Got Diesel?
Received 20 Likes on 7 Posts
Would not use it....

Howes does not contain cetane improves, just cleaners (maybe lubricity) and anti-gel.

Powerservice (grey bottle) adds cetane improvers and contains lubricity.

Read the small print and claims on Howes and it just states that it adds power... but does not specifically state it has cetane improvers!!! The claim is made by less gelling and the cleaners in the product.

Look a whole case of the stuff on display and notice how the color of many bottles looks different.... it is becuase Howes does not make the stuff they just have a bottler do it... the formulations change (which scares me).