Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1994 F-150 front axle questions.

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2009, 12:57 AM
strokin'_tatsch
Post Fiend
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
1994 F-150 front axle questions.

hey guys, i finally got the F-150 i have been trying to get for the past few months. It's a 1994 single cab short bed f150 straight 6 4x4 5 speed manual tranny.

i had a question about the front axle though. being as it has the independant front axle and i seem to see a lot of these with the front tires bowing in at the top i thought i would ask y'all what caused that. the front tires on this truck are bowing and at first glance my guess was ball joints(a set is sitting inside the cab), but then i remembered the independant front axle was a problem with this. i'm new to these front axles so any help would be appreciated. thanks!!

Old 03-28-2009, 03:15 AM
Blue Rebel
Posting Guru
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
probably is bad ball joints. unless youve got MAJOR spring sag (from like 400k mi) id bet money the problem lies in either the ball joints or wheel bearings. For comparison, ive got a 95 F150 w/ 187k on the clock, and there is NO wheel bow at all. put new ball joints in it 2 years ago, and the tires stand straight up and down.

BTW, doesnt your F250 have that ifs up front also anyways?

Old 03-28-2009, 04:45 AM
Opossum
Postmaster
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
It's the springs, because of how the suspension works as the springs compress the top of the tire tilts in, this is normal. Have a buddy bounce the truck as you watch, you will see the tires tilt in and out. It isn't really a problem until it starts effecting tire wear.

If you had a wheel bearing problem that caused the tires to tip in, the tipping in would be the last of your problems the truck would be undriveable and make terrible noises.