General Diesel Discussion  
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Jet-A1 as cheap alternative Diesel fuel.

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2009, 06:57 AM
Beagle44
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Jet-A1 as cheap alternative Diesel fuel.

Hi Fella's I'm new to this forum! "Contaminated" Jet-A1 is available very cheaply from many airplane maintenance facilities in large quantities (from hundreds to thousands of gals). I have been running a Merc 300D and truck for the last 12 years (380K miles) exclusively on Jet-A1 mixed with 2% engine oil.

Is anyone here interested in discussing the tech implications or have experience themselves in its long term use?

Have a nice day

Colin

Old 03-14-2009, 02:52 PM
BPofMD
FTE Legend

Received 1,081 Likes on 983 Posts
But can you run it in a 6.0?

Old 03-14-2009, 04:06 PM
Dean88
Postmaster
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I dunno bout running it in a 6.0, but a buddy of mine runs in it a 93 IDI with no problems. But then again I ran mine on 20 gal of cotton seed oil once just to see if I could

Old 03-15-2009, 02:21 PM
scatgo
Posting Guru
Originally Posted by Beagle44
Hi Fella's I'm new to this forum! "Contaminated" Jet-A1 is available very cheaply from many airplane maintenance facilities in large quantities (from hundreds to thousands of gals). I have been running a Merc 300D and truck for the last 12 years (380K miles) exclusively on Jet-A1 mixed with 2% engine oil.

Is anyone here interested in discussing the tech implications or have experience themselves in its long term use?

Have a nice day

Colin
How do you go about getting it? I would like to do the same.

Old 03-16-2009, 10:19 AM
Beagle44
New User
Originally Posted by BPofMD
But can you run it in a 6.0?