Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

03 Ex. Driveline Vibration/Noise - a short story

Old 02-17-2009, 02:13 PM
clinter36
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
03 Ex. Driveline Vibration/Noise - a short story

Hi All. I have been trolling this forum for about 6 months since I purchased my 03 ex 6.0, 4x4 last August..... thank you all for the great information.

I would like to give a little back if I can...

I noticed a drive line vibration/noise while on a road trip from CT to MI this last December (my truck has 50K which seemed a little premature for U-joints or rear end problems.). After 20+ hours of torment, I was convinced the noise was the U-Joints. The noise was most noticeable at 70+ mph and could be described as a sort-of growling/grumbling roaring noise that resonated in the cabin (although my wife seemed somewhat oblivious). It seemed to go away for a split second when I lifted off the gas then transition to a deeper "unwinding sound" (still a vibration/noise) as the truck decelerated. Upon arriving in MI, I made my way to a local auto parts store and promptly replaced both U-Joints - thank you Ford-trucks for the procedure info. Unfortunately the 20 hour return trip proved that the u-joints were not causing the noise. Incidentally the old ones looked fine when I removed them.

Since the trip, the Ex has been keeping the snow off the driveway and occasionally made a short grocery store run, so needless to say I haven't given much thought to the mysterious noise. A recent ski trip to Vermont was enough motivation to have the rear axle fluid changed. The fluid was dark and a little metallic however the fresh synthetic didn't do anything for the noise.