Exhaust system...and maybe headers??

Old 02-13-2009, 08:32 AM
79mustang351w
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exhaust system...and maybe headers??

Hello. I am a newbie to the Ford truck scene....just got an 04' F250 FX4 Superduty with a 5.4 to tow my 79' Mustang with. I was wondering what exhaust upgrades you can and can't do to these things. Here is my list of things I plan on getting...give me your honest opinions of whats good and bad about my plan!

shorty headers (wish they made long tubes) don't know if this is even worth it, as my stock manifold is leaking on the passenger side (go figure...I just fixed the driver side....now the passenger side pops!!)

the gas saver y pipe to get rid of the restrictor areas (where the tubes go from 2.5" to 1.5" diameter)

high flow cat, knock mines internals out, or a stock replacement (will I set codes if I knock it out or straight pipe it? The O2 sensors are in the y pipe by the exhaust manifolds....not in the cat...don't want engine codes or check engine light set off)

Magnaflow dual exhaust (again wish they made long tubes, and there way a way to go true duals like the Stang without setting codes...if there is a way or I can do it......LET ME KNOW!! LOL)

And other things I am planning are a cold air (don't know which brand to go with...AEM, K&N?? IDK....help me out), maybe undrive pullys,and a tuner (maybe Edge or Gryphon?...something thats gonna help the slow shifts, tire size, and give this dog of a truck some more ***!), and whatever other power ideas you guys have for me to make this thing more TRUCK like!!

I will have to check what gears are in this truck, and get back with you guys...assuming 4.10s? I could jack it up later and count the rotations I guess!! LOL