White smoke + low coolant :( advice?

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2009, 05:39 PM
dzzavid
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
White smoke + low coolant :( advice?

hey guys,

So about 3 days ago i noticed a little bit of white / clear smoke out of my exhaust at idle, i didnt pay too much attention to it because it was cold and it was a tank of fuel that i didnt put Diesel Kleen in with it.

Well today on the ride home from work my heater kept on getting cold then hot then cold again, i knew what the problem was right away, low on coolant. Ever since ive had the truck (3 yrs) ive never had to add any coolant in between flushes.

Im kind of new to diesels, but i know in the gasser world white exhaust smoke usually equals head gaskets, or even worse a cracked head. is this the same case?

Thanks in advance

Old 02-04-2009, 05:41 PM
superduty4x4
Hotshot
Received 39 Likes on 19 Posts
White smoke on these trucks is usually just unburnt fuel in the exhaust. Before you get too excited (like I did ) crawl under the truck and look for signs of antifreeze. Could just be your water pump taking a dump.

Old 02-04-2009, 05:46 PM
dzzavid
Senior User
haha yeah i am pretty disappointed right now

just replaced the water pump last winter i would think it is pretty unlikely for it to be going out again.

but i will check under the truck just to be sure.

thanks for the quick reply

also to add as a sidenote, i dont think this has anything to do with it but i still havent fixed my exhaust back pressure valve (i think thats what its called) where it puts a load on the motor to make it warm up quicker.

Old 02-04-2009, 06:06 PM
05chop
Elder User