Are air bags a good method to help leaf springs ?

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2013, 05:22 PM
blueeyedfordguy
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Are air bags a good method to help leaf springs ?

Question about air bags. I work on tractor trailers so I have lots of knowledge on them. I was happy that my 88 f150 had 5 leaf springs. They were always sturdy for me. My 1997 that I currently own (2wd v6 long bed) has only 3 leaf springs and they look some what flimsy. The truck is fine empty but sometimes I like to haul firewood, and things like that even u haul trailers. On light loads my suspention is a bit swishy with poor handling. I have seen air bags for pick ups everywhere for 100 to 300 $ . I am interested so I could level my truck and help the ride quailty. I think that up to 300$ is a great deal com paired to the cost of new leafs!! And the labor installing them.y other thought is when I buy an f250 I could mount the same ones on that truck. How do they work on a pick up? Are they worth it ? Is there an on board electric compressor and tank? I know a guy with a 2500 duramax and a very heavy vet medical supply 5 the wheel trailer. The wheels were almost touching the fender. He added air bags and the truck hauls great !! Not to mention for light loads you could change the air pressure or make it more for heavier loads

Old 08-22-2013, 05:43 PM
Beechkid
Received 207 Likes on 159 Posts
While I have never used them on a personal vehicle, Fire Depart apparatus (including the heavy duty ambulances...Freightliner chassis) use them a lot...very nice stable ride

Old 08-22-2013, 07:49 PM
AirLiftCompany
SPONSOR
It's likely that you'll need a different kit for an F250 than you would for your F150. In some cases a kit may work for different models, typically the bags are interchangeable but the bracketry is usually different.