Projects Share with other members the details about your project truck or SUV. Old or new, gas or diesel, its all welcome here!

'58 F100 Resto Project

Old 11-12-2008, 04:21 PM
F-100CustomCabTBC
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
'58 F100 Resto Project

This is my '58 F-100 that I have been working at for about 2 years. I have the whole drive terrain for the most part is done besides a few things to spruce up yet. I have been looking into having body work done but I would like to find a parts truck or a rust free cab. My cab is just too far gone; I was quoted 18k for body work without the cost of parts. My box is probably as clean as it will get beside the few dings and the very little rust bellow the tail lights. The front fenders need a little patching up nothing to serious.

The motor that I will be putting in this truck is a 239cid V8. I had the 272 motor that was in this truck taken to a place to be rebuilt (not sure if it was the original). They called me after about 3 weeks and said that one of the main bearings on the block has a hairline crack and they will not continue working on it. They also said that one of the caps themselves was busted into pieces and in the years they have been rebuilding motor they never seen one busted like that. It was even on a different cylinder from the one that had the hairline crack. I then striped down a motor that my dad had and turned out that one was junk because it was bored over as far as it could. I went to an auto salvage yard and the owner said he had a 292Y block at his house and said that I could have it for $250. So I said yes and brought it home stripped it to the bare block took it in to be rebuilt. They called back and said it was a 239cid and asked if I still wanted to continue. I said yes not knowing that the parts will cost a fortune more than if it was a 272 or 292. If I could do it all over again I would have said no and look yet for a third engine. My transmission was also rebuilt last year.<O></O>