1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

V8 Tritons blowing spark plugs

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2008, 02:38 PM
carolinachrissy
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
V8 Tritons blowing spark plugs

Hi Y'all,

Being a newbie here and not owning a Ford truck yet (hopefully buying a 2008 V8 5.4L in a few days), I have questions.

I'd like info on the thread on this site referring to the F250 Triton blowing spark plugs and causing fires.

In looking around the web, I found no info at all on Consumer Reports, but some on Consumer Affairs. Any info you can provide (good or bad) on this topic would be much appreciated.

Thank you kindly,
carolinachrissy

Old 10-19-2008, 04:44 PM
Ace!
Cargo Master
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
It happened on older trucks. Ford changed the design and it's no longer a problem.

Old 10-20-2008, 03:53 PM
krewat
Site Administrator
Received 298 Likes on 157 Posts
"Consumer Affairs" website is a nest of lawyers. Forget them. There has never been a fire started because of a blown spark plug. Matter of fact, an NHTSA investigation was started a few years back into it, and because the lawyer LIED, they dropped it without going any further into it, and REFUSE to reopen any investigation into the issue.

The 3-valve engines DO NOT HAVE THE ISSUE whatsoever, and as of model-year 2003, even the 2-valve engines got long-thread heads which almost competely eliminated the issue. Except for bad tuneups or waiting WAY too long to do it.

You have nothing to worry about.

Old 10-20-2008, 08:51 PM
shorebird
Hotshot
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts